My English Experience – Mar Melgarejo

The truth is that I cannot remember when I started to learn English. My parents signed me up to an academy when I was a kid. In fact, I didn’t even know how to read or write, but I could identify colours and count in English.

Since then, my love for this language has increased, making it impossible for me to stop practising. Besides, I think it is a very important and necessary tool today (to travel, find a job etc.). It has allowed me to meet people from other places that I still keep in touch with. But the most important thing for me about learning English is that it has given me extra security for my personality.

However, all is not rosy. Although it’s true that English may seem easier than Spanish because of their lack of written accent and fewer verb conjugations, all that glitters is not gold. During the learning process, like any student, I have had to deal with the terrible list of irregular verbs, the famous phrasal verbs (which are still making things difficult), and of course, the crazy spelling system. It seems like every word makes up its own pronunciation rules!

Anyway, if you’re interested in continuing to learn English, I’m sure you’ll dodge all the obstacles. To achieve it, my advice is not just to limit yourself to one, two or three hours a week, but live with the language. How? Changing your usual bar to another which offers English conversations, watching TV shows or series’ in original version, reading foreign newspapers or just trying to figure out what your favourite singer is saying in a song.

 

Written by Mar Melgarejo

Responder

